Beans In Beantown

Last week, I had a job interview for a company located just outside of Boston. Since I didn’t want to spend eight hours in the car driving by myself, my lovely twin brother, Chris (my nickname for him is Beans and I almost never call him by his given name), agreed to adventure with me.

Since moving away to college three short years ago, I haven’t been able to spend a lot of time with my brother, who I grew up with and who has always been there for everything. It seemed that every time I came home from college for break, he still had class or work.

I’ve been home for almost five months now and we still haven’t had a whole lot of sibling bonding. Chris and I have very different work schedules, and he’s still in school, so finding time to hang out or do anything together is pretty difficult. To say the least, I was excited for this trip.

Usually when I drive to Massachusetts, I take the Mass Pike. However, Chris and I both agreed that Massachusetts (and New York) tolls are expensive and that we needed a change of scenery, so we agreed to journey through Connecticut. Also, my brother and I really wanted to stop at Trader Joe’s, so Connecticut was the obvious route to take.

I was nervous about taking this less direct route, but excited because I had someone else to share the experience with. I was also curious about what our choice of music would be, since I made Chris listen to an entire Beyoncé album when he drove home with me after I moved out of college, which he did not like at all.

We left our house at 7:20 in the morning, leaving more than enough time to get to my interview, which was scheduled for noon.

Almost immediately after merging onto I-84, we hit commuter traffic and rain. I hate driving such high speeds in the rain. I’ve been meaning to get new windshield wiper blades, as the ones I currently have don’t do a great job clearing my window. To say the least, the rain made me dread the rest of the journey, especially when Chris told me we were driving straight into the storm.

This is what our view looked like:

photo 1 (2) copy

I also hate passing trucks in the rain because all of the water gushes at your windshield from their tires. Plus, watching the wipers pass back and forth across the window can become quite mesmerizing.

For a while we drove without conversation, listening to the radio. When that station faded, we scanned for another good set of tunes, all while squinting to admire the beautiful fall foliage.

When we hit Hartford, we arrived at more traffic and an accident. I don’t think it’s ever taken me 15 minutes to drive two miles, but that day it did. I was happy we had left so early.

Chris and I listened to a strange rap song as we laughed at other drivers. When we could finally rubberneck at the scene of commotion, we saw a few firemen, some police officers and one septic tank.

photo 3 (2) copy

Three hours and 55 minutes later, we arrived at our destination, with 30 minutes to spare. Our next obstacle was to find a bathroom to relieve our aching bladders. It was still raining, and my brother had not taken his rain jacket with him, an unwise decision.

We jumped over puddles, wandering past high-end boutiques until I spotted a restroom from the window of one café. After using their bathroom, I was informed that it was for paying customers only; since I looked a little haggard in my sweatpants and hooded rain coat, the snooty lady, luckily, didn’t give me a hard time when we silently slipped out the door.

After a quick change of wardrobe, I headed to my interview as my brother went to peruse the bookstore across the street.

I think the interview went well. The guy who interviewed me was easy to talk to and asked a lot of questions about my past work experience. He told me a lot about the company and even several interesting things about the local area.

Over lunch, my brother told me about the investing book he purchased at the bookstore and we discussed my interview.

Soon we were back on the road. The drive home featured much better weather; while it was still raining, it was only a drizzle. Plus, we jammed to Ed Sheeran and saw more interesting things, such as a mariachi band and even a New Mexico license plate!

I don’t think I’ve seen a NM plate before, and it was so funny how many times my brother tried to get a picture of the plate before getting a clear enough one (the one below we snagged while sitting in more traffic).

photo 4 (2) copy

And of course we had our Trader Joe’s stop! This was my brother’s first time to the store, and I don’t think he was very impressed by it. I mean, we didn’t exactly have a reason to go grocery shopping, although we did get some trail mix and granola bars.

Finally, we stopped at Cracker Barrel for dinner. I swear our waiter thought we were dating, since we were seated near the window, away from other diners, and by the fact that our waiter left the check closer to my brother than to me.

Even though I can’t remember all of our topics of conversation on the way home, I know we laughed far more than we did on the drive up, and we even took a nice sibling photo to document the trip.

photo (2)

This is the first time I’ve traveled a long distance for a job interview. I have yet to hear back from the company, but even if I don’t get the job, I’m glad I got to spend the day adventuring with my brother.

Leave a Reply

