I Love Garlic

It’s true. I love garlic on my pizza, in my spaghetti sauce…garlic knots, garlic chips, garlic dip…I’ll eat it all.

So it made sense for my mom and I to visit the Hudson Valley Garlic Festival in Saugerties. This was the festival’s 25th year; what started as a group of 425 garlic enthusiasts gathering to promote Pat Reppert’s herb business has turned into a celebratory event with crowds reaching over 45,000!

imgres

My mom and I entered festival grounds minutes after the gates opened and there were already thousands of people walking around, sampling dips and eating garlic products.

We decided to peruse the garlic vendors before the crowd grew bigger. In addition to various samples of raw garlic, dips and salsas, the vendors were selling various maple and fall (pumpkin) products.

I didn’t dare try any raw garlic at 10 in the morning, but I did enjoy the pretzels and dip. I tried bacon ketchup, and even bought a bottle for my brother.

Next, my mom and I perused the craft vendors. I don’t need garlic t-shirts or cooking aprons, but there was one vendor selling personalized license plate mounts that I really loved. They had several bins of cut-up license plates, and you could pick through them to select whichever state/character you wanted to create your own license plate. It’s an awesome idea, but I wasn’t willing to spend so much money on a piece of art.

photo 2 (2)

After all of this browsing, we decided it was time for lunch. Since we had to pay to get into the festival, we decided to bring our own sandwiches to save money. We did enjoy garlic fries and apple fritters, though!

photo 5 (6)

photo 2 (3)

At the end of the day, my mom and I left with some garlic powder samples, garlic dip mixes and pure maple cream. Just as we were about to leave, I decided I wanted to be adventurous and try garlic ice cream.

photo 3 (3)

That might be the only garlic food I don’t like. I love vanilla ice cream — but add chunks of garlic, and suddenly I’ve changed my mind.

My mom and I had always talked about going to the Garlic Festival; now that we have, we can share with others all of the garlic products available in the Hudson Valley.

Leave a Reply

