The Duddles Sandwich

Sandwiches have always been my go-to choice for lunch. My mom always made one for me in elementary and middle school, and by high school, I was preparing my own. Cheese, ham, bologna, ham and cheese — those were always my favorites.

The tradition even continued in college. If there was nothing in Alliot that I wanted, I would make a peanut butter sandwich (and occasionally add jelly).

When the opportunity arose to try a Panini while out to dinner with friends, I jumped at the chance. We dined at Main Course, a cute little serve-yourself restaurant I had never been to before.

What was the occasion? What I like to refer to as the “Duddles Dinner,” an annual event I’ve coordinated for the past four years. Mrs. Dudley-Lemek, who I call “Duddles,” is a former high school teacher of mine. Every summer her and I get together with three other former students (and my close friends) to catch up, share experiences and reminisce on how much we’ve grown over the years.

Duddles Dinner IV

 

Mrs. Dudley-Lemek, me, Prahelika, and Bethany at the Duddles Dinner last month! 

It’s rather impressive that we’ve been able to keep the tradition for so long, especially considering all of our busy schedules. Unfortunately, our friend Jaimie was unable to make the dinner this year.

As the four of us talked about our summer travels (we all had exciting trips this year, both domestic and international), I devoured the grilled chicken Panini, which came with fresh mozzarella, roasted red peppers and basil aioli.

photo 2 (2)

It was freakin’ delicious — better than any sandwich high school me could have created.

Sometimes I can be picky about what kind of bread I eat or how cooked I like my vegetables, but this sandwich was pure perfection. The chicken was moist, the mozzarella was thick and smooth, and the bread was toasted just how I like it. 

I’d say it was a good night, and, as per usual, ended with a blurry picture in my car with ice cream cones.

photo 1 (2)

I can’t wait to see where each of us is next year and to share all of life’s new experiences with old friends.

Leave a Reply

