Crackin’ The Barrel

Last week, I went to Cracker Barrel for the first time.

My mom and I went to have a big breakfast since I had to take her to a doctor’s appointment that involved an entire days’ worth of fasting; to say the least, we were ready to stuff our faces with the tastes of this country-style eatery.

I was surprised to find a country store as soon as we walked in. At first I thought we had entered through the wrong door and ended up in the store next door, but as it turns out, all of these restaurants are designed like this.

photo 1 (2) copy

The very first Cracker Barrel opened in Lebanon, Tennessee. Currently, there are 719 locations around the United States — mostly in the south — and only nine locations in New York State. We ate at their 350th location.

I liked the set-up and design of this restaurant a lot; there was plenty of space on the table and the walls were covered in old photographs and history, which I loved. We had a table near a giant fireplace that added a unique aspect to the dining room.

photo 1 (2)

My mom and I both got a breakfast combo. I ordered French toast, smoked sausage and scrambled eggs. My mom had pancakes, turkey bacon and eggs.

photo 4 (1)

Every breakfast comes with a cute little bottle of syrup, which they serve warm. It was adorable! The food was delicious and I was glad I got to have some time with my mom.

photo (2)

Before we paid the bill, we looked around the shop, which had lots of cute apartment decorations! If only I was returning to college, or else I would have a reason to get some new décor!

photo 2 (3)

Leave a Reply

