Pine + Apple = Pineapple

I love pine trees at Christmastime almost as much as the next gal. Thanks to Alliot dining hall, apples have become my fruit of choice year-round. Something I had never been too familiar with is pineapple.

A few weeks ago I went on a Shaw’s adventure with Sarah to find a pineapple for Tyler’s birthday. I had eaten the fruit a handful of times, but was never really much of a fan (probably because my old co-workers used to put hot sauce on it, which I find absolutely repulsing). And I’ve always associated pineapple with ham, which is arguably my least favorite meat.

I guess you could say my relationship with pineapple is negative by association.

At the store, we soon realized that neither of us knew how to select a ripe pineapple. I called my friend Monica, who loves the tropical fruit, but she didn’t answer her phone, leaving us to figure it out on our own. 

Yes, I probably could have Googled my question or asked another patron or store worker, but what fun would that be?

Instead, I analyzed the fruit selection until I found one that looked golden (not green or brown), and one that felt a little firm (definitely not squishy). I finally found what I deemed a winner. The hard part was over. Or so I thought.

Image

It wasn’t until we arrived back on campus that I realized I had no idea how to cut a pineapple. Beyond that problem, I didn’t have a big enough knife, either.

I headed over to Alex’s townhouse and she ever so kindly let me invade her kitchen. She laughed as I told her my tale and explained that you’re supposed to smell the bottom of a pineapple to figure out if it’s ripe or not. As it turns out, I had blindly picked a ripe one! 

Image

I then got to work cutting off the top and bottom of the pineapple. Then I started cutting the rind off the sides. I couldn’t help but think about how much of the fruit I was wasting, as it seemed there was more skin than edible fruit, but I guess that’s the nature of this fruit. 

Image

Once it was all cut up, Alex taste-tested and affirmed that it was a perfect pineapple. I never would have thought that a simple trip to the store could turn into a learning experience.   

Image

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

