Everything’s Bigger in…COSTCO!

Everyone always talks about how great Costco is because of their jumbo packs of (nearly) everything and free samples galore. Back at home we have BJ’s, which is similar, just without all of the samples (at least last I checked, around 10 years ago).

Image

When my friend Sarah told me her family had a Costco membership, I knew it was only a matter of time before we went; I had to see for myself what all of the hype is about. 

Last Friday Sarah and I went with our friend Alex. When we walked in and had to display the store card, it felt like we were entering an exclusive place, but I’m not so sure it’s all it’s cracked up to be.

Seeing such large packages of food is kind of disgusting. I can understand why my roommate would buy the huge box of goldfish, because it will last her nearly the entire semester. But if you’re not hosting a party, why would you need so much of EVERYTHING?! 

And how can people afford to buy so much in bulk? I understand that it saves money in the long run, but where do people store of all their purchases?

After wandering around the store and sampling caramel cheesecake, I ended up buying a three-pound container of peanut butter pretzel-filled nuggets. My mom first introduced me to them over spring break and now I’m addicted.

Image

Realistically, do I need three pounds of pretzels? No. But I bought them anyway. That, my friends, is the secret to Costco’s success. 

Image

Leave a Reply

