A Food Frenzy

When I was younger, I was a pretty picky eater. I never ate my vegetables and I would only touch meat if someone else had cut it up into bite-sized pieces for me.

Since moving to college, I’ve become less picky; I either eat what’s in Alliot or go hungry (and lemme tell you, I don’t deal with hunger nicely, so I’ve expanded my palate quite a bit).

This week was my turn to bring a snack for class. Since one of my classmates has a gluten intolerance, I wanted to find something tasty we could all enjoy.

For the first time, I made gluten-free brownies. I’ve always enjoyed baking, from cookies and pies to breads and cakes, but I’d never made anything gluten free before.

I was shocked at how difficult it is to find gluten-free foods in the regular grocery store. I searched the baking aisle in Shop Rite, but didn’t find anything. I ended up trekking to Hannaford to find a gluten-free brownie mix.

The next surprise was how expensive gluten-free foods are! Granted, stores have come a long way and these foods have become more accessible, but the journey to alternatives is just beginning.

The gluten-free brownie mix called for butter in place of oil, which made me a little wary about how the end product would turn out. In the past, I’ve only made batters that call for oil or water.

The mix itself was very grainy and you could easily differentiate the cocoa powder from the wheat substitute. After the dry ingredients, oil, and eggs were combined, the mix became very thick and formed a ball and barely stuck to the bowl at all, which was very interesting.

Image

In the end — after all my surprise and concern — the brownies came out perfectly. They weren’t as dry as other gluten-free baked goods I’ve eaten and you couldn’t taste a difference; they were still chocolaty and moist. My classmates enjoyed them, too!

Image

Sticking with the food theme, today I also went into Café Cheray for the first time. Café Cheray is conveniently located at the entrance of Cheray Hall, one of the academic buildings on campus. A variety of beverages, such as Speeder & Earls coffee, and quick-stop foods such as soups, sandwiches, and desserts are offered.

Today I purchased a pretzel and hummus combination. Earlier this year I fell in love with garlic hummus, so today I gave the roasted red pepper variety a shot. It was pretty delicious and I was satisfied with how crunchy the pretzel pieces were!

Image

I’ve tried a myriad of new foods since moving to college, something I didn’t expect to happen.

Leave a Reply

