Spring Break 2014

I’m surprised at how many different firsts I had this week.

For the first time, my brother and I had different spring breaks, so I had the whole house (mostly) to myself this week. I say mostly because my brother doesn’t have class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and his Monday afternoon class was cancelled, so he was home a lot more than I expected.

I was home so much because I didn’t work, this being the first break from school that I haven’t worked! Instead, I did lots of HOMEWORK! I never thought I’d see the day where I did school work at home, but since I have my thesis to write and three presentations to prepare for, I figured it would be worth my time to rest and get crackin’ on my academics instead of making bank.

This week I also tried a Dunkin Coolatta for the first time. My mom had a coupon to get any size for $1.99, so I got strawberry and she got orange. It was a little too sweet for me and the large was definitely more than I wanted, but it fulfilled my desire for a slushy!

photo 2 (2)

Yesterday was the first day of spring. To celebrate the near 50-degree sunshine, I ran on the Walkway over the Hudson for the first time. I’ve walked the 1.28-mile pedestrian bridge countless times. I’ve even biked across it and watched hot air balloons lift off from its elevation of 212 feet above the Hudson River, but I’d never jogged across it.

DC_COP_WOTH-SP_east-end-sign400X300

It was chilly and very windy when I strode across in shorts and a t-shirt, but it felt good to be active. The river itself also looked pretty cool with snow-covered ice chunks floating everywhere. I’ll definitely have to try running again when it’s a little warmer.

images

Spring break’s not quite over yet, so who knows what firsts this weekend will bring!

Leave a Reply

